This sign hangs on the side of a boarded-up warehouse on a side street in Ephrata.
This sign is located on the Basin Street, the main street that runs through Ephrata.
Located on the west side of Soap Lake, the Garlin Apartments were built in 1946.
One of the vintage neon signs in Soap Lake. The lodge is now a RV park with lake access but it once rented rooms and had a pool.
Built in the early 1950’s, this is the oldest operating motel in Moses Lake. sagensandmotel.com
One of the vintage neon signs in Moses lake. This establishment date to 1906, but the name Danny’s and the sign came around in the early 1950s.
This fabulous neon sign has been lighting the way to the Ala Cozy Motel since 1955. Located in Coulee City along Highway 2, at one time there were many motels for motorists to choose from as they drove across the state. They don’t seem to have a website but you might able to find some more information on this Facebook page.
Ala Cozy Motel
9988 Highway, 2 East
Coulee City WA 99115
509.632.5703 | 877.678.2918
Last weekend, while out and about with some friends, we stopped at Quincy Hardware and Lumber to pick up some smoking supplies (meat smoking not cigarette or tobacco smoking). As he was looking at supplies, I noticed this white-tailed buck hanging on the wall and couldn’t help wondering if hanging the buck in the BBQ/meat smoking section said something about what became of the rest of him? White-tailed deer is a common type of wildlife in eastern Washington, they like to live near farmlands, creeks and rivers, and populated areas. Visit the Quincy Hardware & Lumber Facebook Page for more information, or just stop by to see their many treasures.
Quincy Hardware and Lumber
23 E Street SE | Quincy, WA 98848
Originally built in 1912, to replace the first train depot that was just a shack. The depot was enlarged and un-enlarged several times over the years, bringing it to this small size when it was demolished on October 28, 2015.
A few notable events at the depot.
- 1915 – The Liberty Bell comes through.
- 1920 – Electric lights and a telephone installed.
- 1934 – President Roosevelt visits.
- 1937 – President Roosevelt visits again, on his way dedicate the Grand Coulee Dam.